21.7 C
New York
July 16, 2020
The Relationship Tips
Home » COVID-19: Nigerians, others excluded from list of travellers to Europe
CoronaVirus Update

COVID-19: Nigerians, others excluded from list of travellers to Europe

Nigerians in usa depart for Abuja

Nigerians have been excluded from the list of countries whose nationals will be allowed in the region when the borders are open from July 1 by the European Union Commission.

According to TheCable, The European countries had shut their borders when the COVID-19 pandemic spread into the region.

With the easing of lockdown restrictions, the EU had released a draft list of 54 countries that will be granted entry into the borders.

An update of the countries on the entry list to Europe include Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, and New Zealand.

Others are Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China.

On June 11, the European Commission had asked its member to extend the entry ban on third-country nationals until June 30.

The United States, Brazil, and Russia were also exempted from the approved list.

Eric Mamer, the spokesperson for the EU commission, said the criteria used to select the countries is based on their health situation.

“The European Union has an internal process to determine from which countries it would be safe to accept travellers,” he said.


Related posts

3,344 CASES IN ONE WEEK: Infections soar, NCDC unsure of COVID-19 peak


COVID-19: 300,000 Africans may die , WHO warns


Gombe govt. warns against politicising fight against COVID-19


Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More...

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Join Our Official WhatsApp Group whatsapp