Netflix Subscription: How To Deactivate Netflix Subscription
Want to know how to quickly deactivate Netflix ? It’s a good choice, especially if you think it’s time to thin out your subscriptions to multiple streaming platforms. On the other hand, the range of streaming services is so wide (including Now, Mediaset Play Infinity, Tim Vision, Disney +, Amazon Prime Video, StarzPlay, and so on and so forth) that you might want to “pause” your Netflix subscription to test others.
So let’s see how you can disable – temporarily or permanently – your Netflix account. Please be aware, however, that regardless of the device you normally use the platform on, the Netflix cancellation process will always go through the official website.
Deactivate Netflix Subscription From Browser
- Turn on your computer and open your preferred browser (Google Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Edge or whatever you prefer);
- Connect to netflix.com and click “ Login”;
- Enter your Netflix account credentials (email or phone number and password);
- If your profile is shared or if you have created several profiles, select the one you prefer to use to continue deactivation (by the way, if you are interested in how to delete a Netflix profile , skip to the corresponding paragraph);
- Scroll the small icon with your chosen avatar (top right) with your mouse to highlight your profile among others;
- Click on “Invoice ” to redirect you to your subscription summary page, which contains all the data related to your subscription;
- In the section dedicated to the characteristics of the subscription, you will find the button ” Unsubscribe” , click on it.
READ MORE: How To Delete A TikTok Account
You will then be redirected to a page that will allow you to continue deactivating Netflix (you can see a screenshot at the bottom of this paragraph). Then you can proceed by clicking on the “Confirm Cancellation ” button , reconsider the decision (by clicking on the “Go back ” button ) or consider switching to a less expensive tariff plan .
Deactivate Netflix Subscription From App
As mentioned a few lines above, in order to cancel your Netflix subscription, you will have to go to the official website of the service one way or another. So it doesn’t matter if you are using a smartphone, tablet or smart TV, you just need to search the Netflix app for your account section . By clicking on it (or tapping it), you will be automatically redirected to the help browser on your device, where you can continue by following the guide above.
If you want to delete your Netflix account from your smart TV , you might be in for a nasty surprise. I will note that there is really no way to proceed with direct subscription deactivation. The only way to do this is through the browser.
How to cancel Netflix permanently
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE
To permanently cancel your Netflix subscription, you just need to follow the guide described in the “Deactivate Netflix from your browser ” section . After 10 months from the date of deactivation, deactivation becomes final, and profiles, preferences, information previously present in the account, and Netflix history will be permanently deleted.
Do you want your data to be deleted before this time? No problem, write to the address
[email protected]using your registered Netflix email address. Directly ask for your account to be deleted quickly.
How to delete a Netflix profile
Why should you delete one of the profiles owned by your Netflix account? For example, because instead of canceling your subscription, you chose to upgrade to a cheaper plan that doesn’t allow you to share with friends or family, or because you just got tired of paying only for yourself while everyone else is watching the best stuff on Netflix.
In short, no matter for one reason or another, you will be interested to know how to remove a Netflix profile from your account. So … I’ll sort this out for you:
- Sign in to Netflix using your credentials;
- The screen of profiles available on the account will appear, click on “Manage profiles “;
- You will notice that a small pencil appears in the center of each field on the screen , select the profile you want to edit and click on that little icon;
- As a result, you will be taken to the section dedicated to editing this profile;
- Scroll down until you see the Delete Profile button . By clicking on it, you can permanently delete the profile (thereby deleting your history and viewing preferences).
If you are using the Netflix app , do the following:
- Open Netflix ;
- Tap the thumbnail of your avatar (top right);
- Click the “Profile Management” tab ;
- Click on the account you want to delete;
- Click on “Delete Profile “.
Please note that you can only delete “secondary” profiles , not the one created by the account owner (for security reasons).
How to renew your Netflix subscription
You can reconnect Netflix within 10 months after disconnecting . To do this, simply log into Netflix and select “Activate subscription ” (you can do this with any profile except “Kids”).
The billing date will be the same as the renewal date of the subscription.